Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Contest Alert: Indiana's Golden Opportunity

Indiana Romance Writers of America presents

The 20th Anniversary of


Our detailed score sheet and considerate feedback can help you fine-tune your manuscript.

**Trained first-round judges, including published authors

**Acquiring editors and agents as second- and third-round judges

**$50 for first place in each category

**The Best-of-the-Best winner is chosen from among the first-place winners in each category and will receive $100.

DEADLINE: Entries must be received by June 27, 2010. For your convenience, IGO accepts only electronic entries.

ENTRY FEE: $25. Can use PayPal or mail a check.

ELIGIBILITY: Unpublished in novel-length fiction by a non-vanity publisher in the last five years (See for detailed eligibility guidelines.)

ENTRY: Beginning chapters (prologue included) and synopsis. Pages and synopsis combined not to exceed 35 double-spaced pages.

FIRST-ROUND JUDGES: Either trained judges or published authors.


Historical/Regency: Jesse Feldman, NAL

Mainstream with Strong Romantic Elements: Maureen Walters, Curtis Brown, LTD

Paranormal: Alicia Condon, Kensington

Romantic Suspense: Deb Werksman, Sourcebooks

Single Title: Latoya Smith, Grand Central Publishing

Young Adult*: Holly Root, Waxman Literary Agency

BEST-OF-THE-BEST JUDGE: Meredith Giordan, Berkley

*Young Adult does not need to be a romance.


The top entry in each category will receive $50 in cash and a certificate

The entry judged best overall will receive $100 in cash and a certificate.

Further information and contest rules are available through our IRWA Web site:

If you have any questions, you can e-mail the Contest Coordinator at:

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to hear from you! Comments must pass moderation to be published. Spam will be deleted.

SFR Brigade Bases of Operation